420chan now has a web-based IRC client available, right here
Leave these fields empty (spam trap):
Name
You can leave this blank to post anonymously, or you can create a Tripcode by using the float Name#Password
Comment
[*]Italic Text[/*]
[**]Bold Text[/**]
[~]Taimapedia Article[/~]
[%]Spoiler Text[/%]
>Highlight/Quote Text
[pre]Preformatted & Monospace text[/pre]
1. Numbered lists become ordered lists
* Bulleted lists become unordered lists
File

Sandwich

Community Updates

420chan now supports HTTPS! If you find any issues, you may report them in this thread
Considering switching majors because I feel stupid. by Wesley Gomblefit - Fri, 01 Jun 2018 04:10:31 EST ID:8qcGgPl+ No.15665 Ignore Report Quick Reply
File: 1527840631174.jpg -(584441B / 570.74KB, 1920x1200) Thumbnail displayed, click image for full size. 584441
Hey there /math/. So to make a long story short, I'm retaking Trig in school and now is the second time I'm doing poorly in the subject. I studied every day for a week for the last test and got a 62% (D). While it was a fantastic blow to my self esteem, I really don't want to give up on my major (CS) and change to accounting. I'm worried if I don't nip this in the bud now I'll never get anywhere.

I know I'm learning incorrectly. I genuinely enjoy mathematics and programming, thought I feel like once I get to discrete and calculus I'm going to be fucked.

Are there any methods/books/sites you recommend to learn math in way where you understand it? Once I get a concept down it's cake, I just seem to take longer than I think is normal to understand it.

Thanks in advance.
>>
Nicholas Sinningshaw - Fri, 01 Jun 2018 05:17:43 EST ID:drSlH/C1 No.15666 Ignore Report Quick Reply
>>15665

How are you studying? Any textbook for trig that you are told to get for the class should be decent. CS shouldn't require you to take more than a few calculus courses and the discrete course too. Are you struggling with the trigonometry or more fundamental stuff?